Tags

, , , , ,

I’m not quite sure when or how it happened, but one day, I just decided that I want a pixie cut.

Actually, getting a Pixie Cut has long been a part of my Bucket List, but it’s one of those items that I thought I’d do when I’m: a. Middle-aged; b. “Accomplished”; c. Pregnant. I don’t fall into any of those at this point in my life. But hey, life is a funny thing.

I’m not one to do things half-baked, so for several days, all I’ve done was research on pixie cuts that would suit my round face, how to maintain the cut and the like. It wasn’t quite an obsession, but let’s just say that I had the energy of a thousand suns. A pixie cut was all I could think about.

Three months ago, I finally did it. I spent roughly an hour and a half on a dentist’s chair before my hair appointment but that didn’t dampen my spirits at all. Afterwards, I marched to the salon next door, chatted to the stylist about the cut I wanted (showing him a photo of a celebrity with the same face shape and coloring as I do) and suddenly, it was happening.

I didn’t really feel much while the cut was going on, to be honest. I mean, I never expected to go teary-eyed or hysterical ala-ANTM contestants, but for someone who has had long hair for the last decade, having my hair chopped off in huge chunks seemed like the most natural thing in the world to me. I felt…relieved, even.

The haircut lasted for around 20 minutes. After which, I went to the Ladies’ Room and just stared at myself in the mirror for a long time. All I could think of was, “WHOA.”

Perhaps I really am a Short-Haired Girl trapped inside a Long-Haired Girl for a very long time.

Here are some of my realizations/epiphanies/observations post-Pixie Cut:

  • It made me vain(er). Perhaps it’s the novelty, but every time I pass by a mirror, I couldn’t help but check myself out. Mobile phones, gadgets and other reflective surfaces become accomplices to my constant need to look at the current state of hair.
  • Less hair products? Nope! True, I may consume less shampoo and conditioner now, but in reality, I actually have more hair products on my dresser than when I had long hair. Long story short (ha!), I got too excited post-haircut and went on a styling products binge (hair mousse, hair spray, hair wax). And in case you’re interested, the mousse is the only product I’m using regularly.
  • Less hair fall. Yay! Perhaps this could be attributed to the fact that I don’t touch, tug and pull at my hair as often as I used to now. With less hair, I comb/brush less too. Bonus: I have virtually zero split ends now.
  • The Bedhead Struggle Is Real. When I had long hair, I’d wake up to bombshell hair. The type I cannot recreate when I need/want to. But post-PC, the morning-after hair is seriously wacky. My solution? Buy a cheapo beanie and wear it in bed. It will keep your hair flat(ish) and even keep you warm. Pull it down low and it will also serve as an eyemask. You’re welcome.
  • Yes, the attention from some members of the opposite sex became less pronounced. And it’s okay, because I don’t want their attention anyway if they associate attractiveness with one’s length of hair.
  • A literal and proverbial weight has been lifted off my shoulders.
  • It is actually more high-maintenance. Unless you want to end up with a mullet, a PC requires a trim every four weeks or so. In my case, I don’t actually mind the front portion of my hair getting longer, it’s the back part that I have trimmed/buzzed regularly, because to quote one hairstylist, I have a “very weird, low hairline” so things should be kept groomed and neat over there.
  • It makes you edgier, bolder, more “I don’t give a damn”. Your face, neck, shoulders—they are all exposed. A PC is 50% Confidence-Boosting and 50% Confidence Crushing. It is up to you (and your self-esteem) to decide which side you’d rather embrace.

Overall, I am quite satisfied that I finally checked this item off my Bucket List. For those of you wanting to get the chop, so to speak: Do it. It’s just hair. It will grow back.

And you know what? I’m thinking of keeping my hair short. For now.

.

Adios for now, long hair!


 

